Alexandria Reckless Driving Lawyer
Reckless driving can mean many things in Alexandria. The general reckless driving statute states that any driving that endangers the life, limb, or property of another constitutes reckless driving in Virginia. However, several other things can also constitute reckless driving in Virginia.
Perhaps the most common among those is reckless driving by speed. Driving in Virginia at a speed in excess of 80 miles an hour or 20 miles per hour over the posted speed limit in any particular zone can constitute reckless driving.
Reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia which makes it a criminal offense thereby making it important that an Alexandria reckless driving lawyer is contacted. An experienced defense attorney can often help mitigate the damage of this offense and perhaps get it reduced to something less than a misdemeanor.
There are two common ways that reckless driving is charged in Alexandria. The first is if a person is involved in an automobile accident. Police officers will often charge the person they believe to be at fault with reckless driving. Officers often think that because the driving behavior caused an accident, it inherently meets the qualification that it endangered life, limb, or property of another.
The second most common way is reckless driving by speed, meaning any driving that is in excess of 20 miles an hour over the speed limit or any driving over 80 miles an hour.
Determining Whether You Have Been Charged
Any time an individual gets a traffic citation from a police officer, they need to read what it says or consult with a reckless driving lawyer in Alexandria to read it. Typically, reckless driving tickets say “reckless driving” on it. One way to find out is whether or not the person is allowed to pre-pay a fine. If a person is allowed to pre-pay a fine for the charge of reckless driving, then reckless driving requires his or her appearance in court.
Reckless Driving Penalties
Reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which means a person will have a criminal record if convicted. The court has several options available for sentencing, which include a fine of up to $2,500, license suspension for up to six months, and active jail time of up to one year.
Most people do not go to jail for reckless driving. However, if the driving is particularly egregious or if the speed is allegedly is over 90 miles per hour, active jail time is possible. Because jail time is possible, having an experienced Alexandria reckless driving lawyer is crucial.
Learn How a Virginia Reckless Driving Attorney Can Help
Experience and familiarity within a jurisdiction are the greatest assets available to an attorney. Knowing the judges, the prosecutors, and the police officers in the Alexandria criminal justice system is critical for helping a client.
Every jurisdiction has its own unique way of doing things. Every judge has certain thresholds that to meet for the government to prove their case. Hiring an attorney who is not familiar with the local jurisdiction in which a person is charged can be detrimental to their case.
If you are facing reckless driving charges, know that you have options. Contact an Alexandria reckless driving lawyer for help as soon as possible.