Occoquan Drug Lawyer
The criminal code of Virginia details several prohibited activities pertaining to drugs and controlled substances. These prohibited activities include the sale, manufacture, distribution, gifting, or possession of any drug or controlled substance in violation of the criminal code. If you have been charged with any type of drug-related offense, an Occoquan drug lawyer could help.
Because any type of drug charge can result in high fines and jail time, it is important to take steps to protect yourself. A qualified defense attorney familiar with the Drug Control Act could help you fight any charges you are facing.
Laws and Penalties for Marijuana in Occoquan
In Occoquan, it is unlawful to be in possession of marijuana for recreational use or with the intent to distribute, give, or sell it. Virginia law and the Drug Control Act permit possession of marijuana only for medical use, such as for the treatment of cancer or glaucoma, which must be under a doctor’s orders or with a valid prescription. A drug lawyer in Occoquan could answer specific questions about the legal medical use of marijuana.
Being in possession of marijuana for personal use without a valid prescription or doctor’s order is a misdemeanor offense for which the penalty is confinement in jail for up to 30 days and a possible fine of up to $500. Subsequent convictions are punishable as Class 1 misdemeanors with an associated penalty of up to 12 months in jail and a possible fine of up to $2,500.
The penalties for selling, distributing, or possessing marijuana with the intent to sell or distribute it vary depending on the amount of marijuana involved. The maximum penalty is a sentence of five to 30 years in prison when the amount of marijuana involved is more than five pounds. When the amount of marijuana is less than half an ounce, the offense is charged as a Class 1 misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a fine.
What Are Other Common Drug Charges?
In general, it is unlawful to be in possession of any controlled substance. It is also unlawful to distribute or sell a controlled substance unless it is for legal medical use. Controlled substances are outlined in Schedules I through VI of the Drug Control Act. Drug offenses involving Schedule I or II controlled substances are Class 5 felonies, while offenses involving controlled substances classified in Schedules III through VI are misdemeanors.
The penalty upon conviction for misdemeanor drug offenses varies depending on the particular class of misdemeanor, while the penalty for conviction of a Class 5 drug felony is a sentence of one to ten years in prison and a possible $2,500 fine. An Occoquan drug attorney could explain the possible penalties for specific drug offenses.
Talk to an Occoquan Drug Attorney Today
You do not have to fight drug charges on your own. An Occoquan drug lawyer could defend you against the charges and fight for the best outcome possible. No matter what type of drug-related charges you might be facing, a lawyer could help. Call today to learn more.