Manassas Domestic Violence Lawyer
A charge of domestic abuse does not have to lead to criminal conviction. A Manassas domestic violence attorney can help defend you against charges that may be unfair or inflated, and can offer proactive solutions to those facing criminal charges after an argument got out of hand. Using skillful defense strategies and his knowledge of the local court system, a criminal defense attorney will work to bring your case toward a favorable resolution.
Domestic violence can take many forms: spousal abuse, child abuse, and violence between certain family or household members. Virginia law considers most cases of domestic violence, or assault and battery against a family or household member, to be misdemeanors punishable by up to one year in jail. However, in some situations, such as second or subsequent offenses, domestic assault may be charged as a felony, which comes with much more serious penalties. For many people, however, the most difficult aspect of such a criminal conviction is the destruction it causes within a family. When an intense situation is exacerbated by heightened emotions, people may act in ways they never imagined, leading to disastrous results.
Experienced Manassas Domestic Violence Lawyers
When you have been charged with a crime and are facing conviction, jail, fines, and a criminal record that can plague your future opportunities, you need experienced legal counsel on your side. The stakes are too great to leave your defense to chance. Many people make the mistake of automatically pleading guilty to criminal charges when they do not understand the severity of the penalties and they believe they have actually committed wrongdoing. However, there are often several different defense strategies available to fight the accusations and protect yourself from unjust punishment.
By retaining a qualified Manassas domestic violence attorney, you afford yourself the opportunity to effectively fight against the charges and to make sound, well-advised decisions regarding your case. An experienced domestic assault lawyer can challenge the evidence and witness testimony used against you, putting his skill and resources to work for you.
Types of Offenses
Even as a first-offense misdemeanor, assault and battery against a family or household member is punishable by a fine of $2,500 and a jail sentence of up to one year. The penalties increase from there depending on the severity of the offense and the extenuating circumstances. Unfortunately, without quality legal representation, some defendants are convicted of domestic violence when their cases should have been dismissed; others are subject to penalties much harsher than those a skilled defense attorney could have negotiated. Manassas domestic violence lawyers help people accused of assaulting a spouse, ex-spouse, parent, sibling, child, grandparent, grandchild, or other member of the family or household. There are many offenses that could lead to a domestic abuse case, including:
- Assault and Battery
- Spousal abuse
- Child abuse
- Child neglect or endangerment
- Talking or harassment
- Victim’s Protection Orders or restraining orders
Assault and battery against a family or household member is classified as a Class 1 misdemeanor according to Section 18.2-57.2 of the Code of Virginia. Class 1 misdemeanor convictions carry penalties of up to 12 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500. Prosecutors and judges frown upon assault-related crimes, but especially if that assault occurs between family or household members.
Section 18.2-371.1 focuses specifically on child abuse and neglect. According to the Code of Virginia, child abuse occurs when any parent, guardian, or other person responsible for the care of a child under the age of 18 causes or permits serious injury to the life or health of that child either by willful act, omission, or refusal to refusal to provide any necessary care for the child’s health. Child abuse is categorized as a Class 4 felony, which, according to the Code of Virginia Section 18.2-10, is punishable by two to 10 years in prison and up to a $100,000 fine. If that individual exhibits a reckless disregard for human life as defined by Section 18.2-371.1(B), the charge is considered a Class 6 felony. A Class 6 felony conviction carries a penalty of one to five years behind bars and a fine of up to $2,500.
Domestic violence offenses are not looked kindly upon by society or the Virginia court system. If convicted, you risk carrying the social stigma of a domestic violence conviction around for the rest of your life. Due to the exorbitant fines and extensive jail time that can often accompany a conviction, you may also suffer financial, emotional, and professional hardship. Felony convictions can have especially negative consequences, including difficulty obtaining employment and the inability to own a firearm or even vote. The best way to protect yourself from such harsh negative penalties is to consult with a Manassas domestic violence attorney who can provide you with in-depth information regarding the charges you face and provide you with solid strategies for defense.
Hiring a Domestic Violence Attorney
Finding a qualified domestic violence lawyer in Manassas is as simple as calling an attorney for a free evaluation of your case. Mr. Duckett is committed to upholding defendants’ rights, and he diligently works to provide the best possible outcome. He effectively builds a strong attorney-client relationship that is crucial to building a successful case.
Allegations of domestic abuse can destroy your family, and a criminal conviction can ruin your career. Don’t take the risk of handling your case on your own. Get a Manassas domestic violence attorney on your side.