Culpeper DUI Lawyer
Dealing with a DUI charge is a stressful, complicated legal matter. If you have found yourself facing these serious charges, let a Culpeper DUI lawyer guide you through the legal process. Our lawyers have extensive experience defending these types of cases, and can provide you with support and legal knowledge so you know what to expect as your case progresses. Consult with an experienced criminal attorney in Culpeper today to discuss your case.
Why Hire a Culpeper DUI Attorney?
The facts of every case are different, and our DUI attorneys know that. They conduct a full assessment and a thorough investigation of each case, addressing all of the relevant facts and evidence. They fully explain the law and possible outcomes, and they advise and support clients in developing legal strategies tailored to the specific circumstances of each case. They will guide you through each step along the way to make sure you are prepared to face your day in court.
By signing on with a Culpeper DUI lawyer, you’re arming yourself with an experienced local attorney who understands how DUI charges are prosecuted in Culpeper and how best to defend clients.
Virginia DUI Laws
Driving under the influence is governed by Virginia Code Section 18.2-266. There are a number of ways an individual can be charged with DUI, which include:
- Driving with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08 or greater;
- Driving under the influence of alcohol;
- Driving while taking a drug that impairs the ability to drive;
- Driving while under the influence of a combination of alcohol and drugs that impairs the ability to drive; or
- Driving with specific amounts of certain drugs, including 0.02 mg per liter of blood of cocaine, 0.1 mg per liter of blood of methamphetamine, 0.01 mg per liter of blood of PCP, or 0.1 mg of Ecstasy.
To learn how the details of your case align with your particular charges, consult with a Culpeper DUI lawyer. Once you explain your situation, you and your defense attorney can work together to design a defense strategy that meets your needs and preferences.
A driver with a BAC of 0.08 or greater is presumed to be under the influence of alcohol (VA Code: 18.2-269(A)(3)). A driver with a BAC level of 0.05 or lower is presumed not to be under the influence of alcohol, but could still be considered to be under the influence of drugs (VA Code: 18.2-269(A)(1)). For an individual whose BAC is higher than 0.05 but lower than 0.08, no presumption applies, but that evidence can still be used against the person in a DUI case (VA Code: 18.2-269(A)(2)).
The punishment for a first DUI conviction is up to 12 months in jail and a fine of $250 to $2,500 (VA Code: 18.2-270(A)). Harsher penalties apply to those with exceptionally high BAC levels, as well as those who have had a prior DUI conviction. (VA Code: 18.2-270(B)).
Set Up Your Free Consultation with a Culpeper DUI Lawyer
There are a lot of factors to consider when facing a DUI charge in Virginia. It can be a daunting experience to handle alone. Our Culpeper DUI attorneys will provide you with an individual assessment of your case, making sure you have a full understanding of your case, the legal process, and the options available to you. Call us today for your free consultation to learn more about the services we provide and how we can help you with your case.